Powerball Lottery

Powerball Lottery has awarded the largest jackpot prize for a single ticket in an American lottery history.

The jackpot, worth of $365 million, was drawn on February 18, 2006 and was won by a single ticket bought in Nebraska. It was shared by eight persons who worked for a meatpacking plant. They elected to receive their winnings in cash, sharing $177,270,519.67 (before taxes).

Currently Powerball tickets costs $1 each. For each ticket, players must select five (5) numbers from a set of 59 (white balls) and one (1) number from a set of 39 (the PowerBall).

Players can select their numbers on their own or they can elect to have the lottery terminal randomly select one or more of their numbers (called "quick pick", "easy pick", etc. depending on the Powerball jurisdiction).

Draws are held every Wednesday and Saturday at 10:59 pm Eastern Time. For each draw, the winning numbers are selected using two ball machines or drums - one contains the white balls, and the second contains the red Powerballs.

Five balls are drawn from the first machine, and one from the second machine; these become the official winning numbers. Tickets which match at least three white balls and/or the red Powerball are winners. You can match the first five white ball numbers drawn in any order.

The Powerball Lottery is ran by the Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL), a non-profit, government-benefit association owned and operated by its member lotteries. Each MUSL member offers one or more of the games administered by MUSL. All profits are retained by the individual lotteries and are used to fund projects approved by the legislature authorizing each lottery.

Here's a list of current MUSL members:

  • Arizona Lottery
  • Arkansas Lottery
  • Connecticut Lottery Corporation
  • Colorado Lottery
  • D.C. Lottery & CGCB
  • Delaware State Lottery
  • Florida Lottery
  • Hoosier Lottery
  • Idaho Lottery
  • Iowa Lottery
  • Kansas Lottery
  • Kentucky Lottery Corporation
  • Louisiana Lottery Corporation
  • Maine Lottery
  • Minnesota State Lottery
  • Missouri Lottery
  • Montana Lottery
  • Nebraska Lottery
  • New Hampshire Lottery Commission
  • New Mexico Lottery Authority
  • North Carolina Education Lottery
  • North Dakota Lottery
  • Oklahoma Lottery
  • Oregon Lottery
  • Pennsylvania Lottery
  • Rhode Island Lottery
  • South Carolina Education Lottery
  • South Dakota Lottery
  • Tennessee Education Lottery
  • Vermont Lottery
  • Virgin Islands Lottery
  • Wisconsin Lottery
  • West Virginia Lottery

Here are more Powerball Lottery information:

Play Free Casino Table Games